Brownie Batter Pancakes {THM-E} & Hot Fudge Syrup-Sauce {THM-FP}

DSC_7211

I love brownie batter.  Prior to THM, I’ve been known to whip up a batch of brownies just so i could eat some of the batter before popping them in the oven.  True story.  Love the stuff.  Of course, regular old box-mix brownies are not on the THM plan, and for good reason!  They contain all sorts of processed and not-good-for-you ingredients.

DSC_7196

And who doesn’t love pancakes?  Soft, fluffy, drenched in some sort of syrup-y goodness?  I mean you’d have to be crazy not to love pancakes.  And there’s so many flavor options – berry pancakes, chocolate chip pancakes, banana pancakes, apple-cinnamon pancakes, the list goes on an on.  I decided I wanted a chocolatey pancake. It took a couple of tries to come up with a recipe that I really was happy with, but I’m so glad I kept trying!

DSC_7200

These brownie batter pancakes aren’t quite a fluffy as traditional pancakes, but they are oh-so-yummy.  And the best part?  You can eat the entire batch as ONE serving!  How awesome is that?  Oh wait…it gets better…you can also pour on this amazing Fuel Pull Chocolate Syrup!

DSC_7203

Yes ma’am (or maybe you’re a sir?), this sauce is the icing on the (pan)cake!  You can’t go wrong with chocolate sauce!  I may or may not have licked the bowl clean after taking these photos.

DSC_7238

If you love pancakes and brownie batter, and you’re a Trim Healthy Mama looking for new ways to start your day, then give these delicious little babies a try!

DSC_7222

Brownie Batter Pancakes {THM-E}

  • 2 tbsp whey protein powder
  • 1/4 cup oat flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp Truvia (or other sweetener of choice)
  • pinch salt
  • 1-1/2 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 6 Tbsp almond milk

Combine all ingredients in a small bowl.  Heat skillet or griddle and spoon batter onto hot skillet.  Let cook until bubbles appear on the surface.  Flip over and cook another minute or so, until fully cooked.  Stack pancakes on serving plate and use Fudge Sauce to top them!

Hot Fudge Syrup-Sauce {THM-FP}

  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 Tbsp Truvia (or other sweetener of choice)
  • pinch salt
  • 1/4 cup water*
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

Combine cocoa powder, truvia, and salt in small saucepan over medium-low heat.  Whisk in the water until smooth.  Heat to a boil; boil 3 minutes.  Remove from heat and whisk in vanilla.  Serve warm.  Store and leftover sauce in airtight container in refrigerator.
*This amount of water makes a medium-thick sauce.  Use more water for a thinner syrup.

DSC_7225

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

43 thoughts on “Brownie Batter Pancakes {THM-E} & Hot Fudge Syrup-Sauce {THM-FP}

  1. Esther July 18, 2014 at 8:55 am Reply

    Oh my, oh my, OH MY! So gonna have this TODAY!!

    Like

  2. bendviewfarm July 19, 2014 at 9:03 pm Reply

    Went to the store to get ingredients! Gonna try them tomorrow morning!

    Like

  3. Missy September 10, 2014 at 1:38 pm Reply

    These were great! I have trouble coming up with E breakfasts but this one is a keeper!

    Like

  4. Cassie September 17, 2014 at 11:19 pm Reply

    How many would you have in one sitting?

    Like

  5. Stacy October 29, 2014 at 2:55 pm Reply

    Can I put these in a muffin pan and make muffins instead?

    Like

    • Carla March 3, 2015 at 10:50 pm Reply

      I’ve never tried that, but let me know how it works if you do!

      Like

  6. Stacy M November 25, 2014 at 3:29 pm Reply

    What is a good substitute for applesauce? TIA

    Like

    • Carla March 3, 2015 at 10:51 pm Reply

      I chose applesauce because I needed something to replace fat in this recipe to make it an E meal with THM. If you aren’t worried about that, you could substitute some oil instead of applesauce and see if that works.

      Like

  7. Crystal January 15, 2015 at 11:12 pm Reply

    Does the sauce taste like dark chocolate and if so is there a way to make a milk chocolate hot fudge sauce?

    Like

    • Carla-EatYourselfSkiiny January 16, 2015 at 7:07 pm Reply

      It is a little on the “darker” side of chocolate. You could possibly use some heavy cream to give it more of s milk chocolate flavor, but then that would send it into crossover territory since you’re serving it over E pancakes.

      Like

  8. Holly February 3, 2015 at 12:26 am Reply

    Looks fantastic! Is there a calorie count to this serving?

    Like

    • Carla-EatYourselfSkiiny February 3, 2015 at 1:03 pm Reply

      I’m sorry, but I don’t have calorie counts for my recipes. You might find an online service that you could use to figure it out!

      Like

  9. Heather February 20, 2015 at 3:56 pm Reply

    What kind of cocoa powder do you use? My pancakes and my sauce were so bitter that I couldn’t eat them. I use Sweet Blend for my sweetener, and I added salt to cut down the bitterness, but that didn’t resolve the problem. Also, my cakes are light brown, not dark and gooey looking like yours. My sauce is dark brown, not light like yours. I really want to figure out how to make this work! TIA!

    Like

    • Carla March 3, 2015 at 10:52 pm Reply

      I use Aldi brand cocoa powder. Different brands could make a difference in the bitterness and the color.

      Like

    • Rita February 1, 2017 at 3:13 pm Reply

      I agree. I made them with Nestles cocoa and they were awful.

      Like

      • Carla February 1, 2017 at 3:55 pm

        I’m sorry yours were bitter! I have a feeling it must be the different brands of cocoa powder. I use Aldi brand.

        Like

  10. Karin February 23, 2015 at 3:52 pm Reply

    I just made these in my waffle iron. They tasted delicious – crispy, but they fell apart when I opened it. I think it was too thin. Still yummy. The sauce was a bit too bitter for me so, I will need to add ore sweetener or maybe find a vanilla flavored sauce to offset the dark chocolate. Will definitely be making these again though!

    Like

    • Carla March 3, 2015 at 10:54 pm Reply

      I never thought to try them in a waffle iron! Sorry they fell apart…maybe try adding a little more oat flour and/or protein powder to make them thicker? Let me know how it works if you try it!

      Like

  11. Cheryl Rogers March 29, 2015 at 11:55 pm Reply

    These are so good! Husband asked for them about once a week!

    Like

  12. […] Prepare Decadent Chocolate Sauce Recipe: FP (Modified from Eat Yourself Skinny’s Hot Fudge Syrup-Sauce) […]

    Like

  13. terri November 18, 2015 at 3:29 pm Reply

    In all honesty, these were amazing…. these are going to be my go to breakfast….

    Like

  14. […] Breakfast: E: Brownie Batter Pancakes from eatyourselfskinny […]

    Like

  15. Cayley February 2, 2016 at 7:07 pm Reply

    Any possible subs for the protein powder?? 😦 Don’t have any.

    Like

    • Carla February 1, 2017 at 3:56 pm Reply

      I haven’t tried making this with any substitutes, but you could possibly try subbing it for more oat flour.

      Like

  16. Bonnie H March 15, 2016 at 11:25 pm Reply

    If I had applesauce I would make these right now! Looks like I need to hit the store tomorrow. I have a very hard time with E meals. I love me some S meals though.

    Like

  17. […] Chocolate Waffles (E) – Brownie Batter Pancakes […]

    Like

  18. Melody F April 21, 2016 at 7:07 pm Reply

    If you don’t have the Whey Powder yet, is there a substitute? 🙂 These look amazing and had my hubby drooling when he saw the picture! 🙂

    Like

    • Carla February 1, 2017 at 3:57 pm Reply

      I haven’t tried subbing anything for the protein powder. You could try subbing it with more oat flour, but I can’t guarantee how they will turn out!

      Like

  19. Rosalyn April 26, 2016 at 9:10 pm Reply

    I just made these in a small baking dish…probably 3×6….baked in oven for 15 minutes….I did add double sweetener…….and they are delicious, 350 degrees….thanks…love the egg free recipe!!

    Like

    • Carla February 1, 2017 at 3:57 pm Reply

      What a great idea! Thank you for sharing!

      Like

  20. Patricia McKenzie July 19, 2016 at 1:52 pm Reply

    Thank you for the receipt. I have just started on the program and am having a hard time with breakfast. I eat eggs but am very tired of them. I eat mostly eat salad and meat. Hope I get this figured out as I have to lose at least 50 lbs.

    Like

  21. Alyssa July 19, 2016 at 4:27 pm Reply

    My THM children (3&4) absolutely loved these…and I mean loved! We have tried many chocolate waffle and pancake recipes and these certainly are the best…thank you so much!

    Like

  22. Chandra July 21, 2016 at 2:37 pm Reply

    These were soooo good! and loved the egg free option, some of the ones I’ve made in the past have tasted eggy. These came out absolutely perfect. The first time they were very thin, the second time I accidentally upped the oat flour to 1/3 cup -wrong measuring cup 🙂 and I have a Pampered Chef mini measuring cup that measures to 4tbsp, I just filled it to the top with the almond milk which was probably 5tbsp and they did come out thicker. Either way, they are goooood! Thank you!

    Like

  23. Erin September 22, 2016 at 3:16 pm Reply

    Oh snap these were good! I doubled the pancake recipe (next time I wont as I forget how much protein powder fills me up) subbed 2T PB2 for 2T of the cocoa powder in the syrup and sliced three strawberries on top AND had a frozen coffee pudding on the side as a FP all while staying under 500 calories. I find myself asking if this is real life a lot lately with the THM lifestyle. Chocolate pancakes and a shake for breakfast? Yes please!

    Like

    • Carla February 1, 2017 at 3:58 pm Reply

      So glad you liked them! But please share…how do you make frozen coffee pudding???

      Like

  24. Renee Valenti January 11, 2017 at 7:11 pm Reply

    i did not have time to make the syrup so they were dry but good taste and I used oat fiber or was I supposed to use ground oats? thanks for the recipe

    Like

    • Carla January 12, 2017 at 12:40 am Reply

      I have never usbeen oat fiber, only ground oats (pat flour) so that may be why they were a little more dry. If you continue to use oat fiber, you may want to add a little more liquid.

      Like

  25. suzanneshirley January 17, 2017 at 3:46 pm Reply

    The pancakes were pretty good! My chocolate loving 5 year old really liked them with regular pancake syrup and whipped cream. The sauce was a little too bitter for both of us. I’m new to THM so I thought maybe I was just missing the real sugar. Thanks for the recipe!

    Like

    • Carla February 1, 2017 at 3:59 pm Reply

      It definitely takes a while for your tastes buds to adjust to no sugar! You could always add a little more sweetener in the sauce.

      Like

  26. Judi February 15, 2017 at 9:17 pm Reply

    Could egg white protein powder be subbed for the whey protein powder for a dairy free version? Or is there a better sub?

    Like

  27. Christine Mast May 12, 2017 at 4:17 pm Reply

    They were AWESOME!! Perfect breakfast when you need a chocolate fix. Simple to make and taste so good. Thanks for the recipe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

