Chocolate Fudge Brownies with Fudgy Frosting {THM-S}

DSC_7234

Have I mentioned before that I brownies are my number one weakness?  Well, they are.  If I was stranded on a desert island and I had to choose one thing to eat for the rest of my life, it would be brownies.  So, it’s probably no surprise to you that this was one of the first things I started trying to recreate when I became a Trim Healthy Mama!  I just HAD to find a way to get my fudgy brownie fix and still be healthy.

DSC_7237

It took several different recipes, test runs, and taste tests to get to this brownie recipe.  And yes, I even made one recipe that was so bad it went straight in the trash.  Yeah, I did.  But I kept trudging along, trying a new tweak here, a swap of ingredients there until I finally found a brownie that is fudgy, good for you, and delicious!

DSC_7236

Yes, these brownies have zucchini in them.  As a matter of fact, mine have a combination of zuchinni and zephyr squash (kind of a cross between zucchini and yellow squash?) because that’s what I had on hand, but I’ve also tried them with straight zucchini so just use whatever summer squash you happen to have, or whatever looks great at the farmers market this week.

DSC_7232

I took a batch of these yummies to a church pot luck and they were completely gone at the end of the night.  Several people told me how good they were…I didn’t tell them what was in them or that they were HEALTHY!

 

Chocolate Fudge Brownies with Fudge Frosting

  • 1/2 cup shredded zucchini or yellow squash (shred in food processor for best results)
  • 2 tbsp egg substitute
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 3 tbsp golden flax meal
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled slightly
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 coconut flour (store bought)
  • 1/2 cup oats, ground fine
  • 1/2 cup almond meal, ground fine
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 5 tbsp Truvia

For best results, place zucchini in food processor and process until very smooth and there are no large pieces of zucchini remaining.

Combine zucchini, egg substitute, water, vanilla, flax meal and butter in small bowl.  Let sit for 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, combine cocoa powder, coconut flour, ground oats, ground almond meal, salt, baking soda, and Truvia.  Combine soaked zucchini mixture with dry ingredients and stir just until evenly mixed – don’t overwork the batter.  Spread into a parchment lined 8×8 pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 18-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Let cool in pan for at least 15 minutes.  Remove from pan along with parchment paper and place on cooling rack to cool completely.

Once cooled, frost with Fudgy Frosting.

Fudgy Frosting

  • 1/4 cup natural peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp truvia
  • 1 doonk stevia
  • pinch salt

Combine all ingredients in a SMALL food processor and blend until smooth.  (Because you’re making a small amount of frosting, it helps to blend this in a small food processor bowl.  Otherwise, it just doesnt’ seem to blend as well) Add more almond milk if needed to reach desired consistency.  Spread over cooled brownies.

DSC_7230

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Chocolate Fudge Brownies with Fudgy Frosting {THM-S}

  1. HealthyHappy July 21, 2014 at 7:48 pm Reply

    Love this. Great post.

    Like

  2. Bonnie Slonim November 8, 2014 at 7:04 pm Reply

    I have an ingredient question: Does “egg substitute” refer to 2 Tbs. of the powder only, or 2 Tbs of the powder turned into “egg?” (ie with water)

    Like

  3. bonniejdmmmom December 1, 2014 at 6:29 pm Reply

    Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!! These are FANTASTIC!! I had to use a different frosting b/c of peanut allergy in my family, but the brownies themselves are out of this world, and I’m SOOOOOO grateful to have a brownie recipe that I love AND that’s healthy.

    Like

  4. Adrie January 18, 2015 at 12:28 am Reply

    would egg whites work? or could I use one whole egg?

    Like

  5. Carla January 19, 2015 at 1:57 pm Reply

    I think egg whites would work, since egg substitute is simply egg whites with flavors/spices added.

    Like

  6. Andrea October 24, 2016 at 9:04 pm Reply

    Looks delicious.
    Can I substitute THM baking blend for the flax meal?

    Like

    • Carla February 1, 2017 at 4:03 pm Reply

      I haven’t tried it with the banking blend, so I can’t say for sure. But I think it should work ok!

      Like

Leave a Reply

